September 20, 2021

Cup World News – Latest News & Highlights

The latest World Cup news, rumours, standings, schedule, live scores, results & transfer news

FIFA Club World Cup 2020 – News – A world first for the new millennium

3 min read
FIFA Club World Cup 2020 - News - A world first for the new millennium

Die Geschichte der Klub-WM

FIFA Club World Championships Final, Rio De Janeiro, Brazil, 14th January, 2000, Corinthians 0 v Vasco Da Gama 0, (Corinthians win on penalties)

© Getty Images

  • The first ever FIFA Club World Cup was held in 2000
  • 16 tournaments to date with 10 completely different winners
  • Club World Cup 2020 to happen from 1 to 11 February

In round three weeks’ time, the FIFA Club World Cup 2020™ will probably be held in Qatar. We already know six of the seven members, and you’ll see the full listing of matches right here. The draw to determine the match pairings will happen on 19 January 2021 at 16:00 CET in Zurich, with everybody eager to seek out out who will succeed Liverpool and carry the most prestigious trophy in world membership soccer.

Around 13 months in the past, the Reds completed off 2019 with a win over Rio de Janeiro giants Flamengo to say the Club World Cup, however they will be unable to defend their title. Last summer time, Bayern Munich gained the UEFA Champions League and now have the probability so as to add a second Club World Cup to their trophy cupboard after their 2013 success.

Since the match was first created in 2000, European golf equipment have triumphed on 12 events, with 4 South American winners. Which confederation goes to return out on high in Qatar as the match is held for the ultimate time in its present format?

New beginnings in 2000

The battle for the world membership crown first began in 2000. The FIFA Club World Cup in Brazil was the first worldwide soccer match of the new millennium. It was a brave transfer to globalise membership soccer, and an ideal alternative to get pleasure from a novel show of so many extremely-gifted footballers unexpectedly. Eight golf equipment from the 4 corners of the globe headed to the heat climes of Rio de Janeiro and Sao Paulo, to the nation that many think about to be the beating coronary heart of soccer.

Among the large names collaborating have been report European Cup/Champions League winners Real Madrid, in addition to Manchester United, who had simply bagged the Champions League trophy. The Premier League facet, who had gained the treble in the 1998/99 season, even pulled out of defending their FA Cup title to face off towards the greatest that the world needed to supply in the land of samba and Carnival.

Inaugural Club World Cup winners

In the finish, it was the two Brazilian groups – Vasco da Gama from Rio and Corinthians from Sao Paulo – who met in the ultimate. And after a tactical battle that remained goalless for 120 minutes, it was Corinthians who emerged victorious 4-3 on penalties. Prior to the ultimate, that they had drawn with Real Madrid and defeated Al Nassr of Saudi Arabia and Raja Casablanca of Morocco in the first spherical. With their star-studded line-up together with Vampeta, Freddy Rincon, Edu, Dida and the incomparable Edilson – they then edged the ultimate to report a properly-deserved win in entrance of 73,000 followers at the legendary Maracana Stadium in Rio.

Corinthians players celebrate their win with the champions board after the FIFA Club World Cup Final

© Getty Images

Europe begins to take over

There was then a 4-yr wait earlier than the subsequent match was held, in Japan in 2005. And as was the case in the opening version of the match, it was a workforce from Brazil who took the title, this time Sao Paulo. Twelve months later, Internacional de Porto Alegre accomplished the Brazilian treble, however other than one other win for Corinthians in 2012, each different title on the trophy has been from Europe.

The report-holders are Real Madrid with 4 wins, forward of their Spanish rivals Barcelona on three and Corinthians with two. Seven different groups have additionally gained the title, together with Bayern Munich, who’re in motion once more this yr. And as for the high scorer in match historical past, that’s none apart from Cristiano Ronaldo.

Previous winners

Results by confederation

Confederation Champion Runners-up Third place Fourth place
UEFA 12 3 1
AFC 2 5 8
CAF 2 1 2

Last yr’s ultimate

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *